I need your help!

I am going off to university in September to study Creative Writing and English Literature and I need some help from you all!

I can only take 5 books because I won’t have space for many more than that so I have narrowed down my favourites list to just ten books and need you to tell me which ones I should take!

  1. Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertelli
    • pro #1: a fun, easy read
    • pro #2: one of my favourites books to re-read
    • con #1: I’ve already read it at least a hundred times
    • con #2: it won’t look the most intellectual because it’s a YA novel with a bright red cover
  2. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
    • pro #1: one that I would be happy to reread as I find something new every time I do
    • pro #2: it’s a classic so bonus student points for me
    • pro #3: it makes me look intelligent because I studied it at A Level so I can talk about it
    • con #1: again, I have read it loads of times already, at some point I’m likely to run out of new things to find
    • con #2: it’s not the most cheerful of novels
    • con #3: I’ll be studying classics, I might just be a little sick of them
  3. Frankenstein by Mary Shelley
    • pro #1: one of the greatest sci-fi novels ever written (don’t fight me on this, it’s true)
    • pro #2: I would look super intellectual again
    • con #1: again… not particularly cheerful
    • con #2: how many times can I read it, really?
  4. And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie
    • pro #1: brilliantly written, I absolutely love detective novels
    • pro #2: kind of a classic but also not like full-classic so it’s an easier read
    • con #1: not the best re-readability because once you’ve read it once you know the twist
  5. Harry Potter series by JK Rowling (all seven books)
    • pro #1: it’s one of my favourite series
    • pro #2: fun and easy to read
    • pro #3: excellent re-readability
    • con #1: that is a lot of books and will take up most of the space
    • con #2: like… way too many books
  6. The Hobbit/The Lord of the Rings series by J.R.R Tolkien
    • pro #1: it’s only four books in total so still less than Harry Potter
    • pro #2: excellently written with a brilliant, classic story
    • pro #3: could actually be helpful for my course because I want to write fantasy
    • con #1: four is still most of the amount I can have
  7. The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde
    • pro #1: I just really love Oscar Wilde
    • pro #2: it’s a classic so bonus points for me
    • pro #3: excellently written and the plot and characters are great
    • pro #4: extremely quotable
    • con #1: will it become dull after too many reads?
    • con #2: will I be pretentious rather than intelligent?
  8. Six Poets: Hardy to Larkin by Alan Bennett
    • pro #1: poetry rather than prose, nice to have a bit of variety
    • pro #2: easily written and hugely enjoyable
    • pro #3: quotes and facts galore
    • con #1: how many times can I read the same poems, really?
    • con #2: the fear of being pretentious
  9. Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur
    • pro #1: again, poetry
    • pro #2: brilliant for when you don’t feel great because she seems to know exactly how you feel
    • pro #3: so re-readable because each one means something different depending on when you read it
    • con #1: literally none, it’s perfect
  10. Pretty Things by Sara Manning
    •  pro #1: easy to read
    • pro #2: super fun and enjoyable
    • con #1: not the most intellectual
    • con #2: as far from a classic as possible
    • con #3: I’ve already read it a hundred times so I do wonder how many more times I can read it

Let me know which five you think I should take and why!

11 thoughts on “I need your help!

      1. I only recently bought myself a Kindle [Paperwhite]; I always messed around with the Kindle-app on my phone but I got tired of it. Especially since the battery is giving up on me so not reading on my phone is helping a lot, haha.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

